How to delete Snapchat account

SOCIAL media users can be notoriously fickle with platforms falling in and out of fashion and the latest must-have app becomes the big new thing.

If you think it’s time to ditch Snapchat and move on to the next fad, here’s our handy how-to guide to quit the app.

How to delete Snapchat account

If you want to delete your Snapchat account but still want to hold on to the memories, then never fear.

The social media platform allows you to download pictures, videos, stories and messages to a Zip file before you fully commit to cutting ties.

It's also worth noting that you can't delete your Snapchat account from the app on your phone – you have to go online to do it.

Read More on Snapchat


To say goodbye to your Snapchat account, follow these simple steps:

1. Go to the accounts portal at accounts.snapchat.com, and type in the username and password for the account you want to delete.

2. Scroll down to and click on the Delete Account button.

3. Where prompted, enter your username and password. Don't forget these details, just in case you change your mind and want to re-activate your account.

latest snapchat news

BACK TO THE BAYOU

A look at Addison Rae's Snapchat series

MOVE IT

Snapchat rushes to close 'heatmap' in Ukraine to stop Russians from gathering intel

SNAP IT UP

The wait is over, find out how to change your Snapchat username!

SNAPPED!

Snapchat finally lets you change usernames for FIRST time – how to do it

Your account will then be deleted – but will remain active for 30 days, so you have plenty of time to change your mind.

Before you take the above steps, you may wish to download your data from the app.

To do this, log in to your account on the website, not the app, and click on My Data in the account homepage.

Then go down to the bottom of the page and tap Submit Request.

A copy of your Snapchat data in a ZIP file should arrive in your verified email inbox within 24 hours.

You must do this before deleting your account or the file won’t arrive.

One good reason not to delete your account is that The Sun has it's own dedicated Snapchat account and you can follow all the news and gossip here.

Instead of deleting your Snapchat account, you can always just change your username.

Here's how to unlock your Snapchat account.

How long before my Snapchat account is permanently deleted?

Before you hit the delete button, be aware that Snapchat keeps your data for 30 days so if you get cold feet, you can easily reinstall the app and pick up where you left off.

During this 30-day period, your friends will not be able to contact or interact with you on Snapchat.

After the 30 days are up, your account, account settings, friends, Snaps, Chats, Story, device data and location data in Snapchat’s database will be wiped.

While your account is deactivated, you can only log in with your username and password.

You can’t log in with your email address and you can’t change your password.

Can I restore my deleted Snapchat account?

To reactivate your account log back into the Snapchat app with your username within 30 days of deactivating your account.

Read More on The Sun


It can sometimes take 24 hours before a deactivated account can be reactivated.

If you have deleted your account for more than 30 days it is permanently deleted and cannot be restored.

    Source: Read Full Article